Homecoming. | 31 Days.

Ahh, Home
Let me come Home
Home is wherever I’m with you
– 
Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Home

Photo credit: fotobydave
This weekend my alma mater will celebrate THE 101st Homecoming. I say “THE” because the University of Missouri invented homecoming. With thousands of other alumni I will travel back to Columbia to spend the weekend reminiscing with friends about our days in college. The best part is no matter how long it’s been or how far everyone has traveled from it’s like we never skipped a beat.

I love my community because home is wherever I’m with it. It doesn’t matter where I go as long as my community is with me. As we’ve gotten older my friends have dispersed to cities around the country but despite the physical separation we are still a community. It’s amazing how relationships that were so intimate years ago can quickly be rekindled when we gather to celebrate. Wherever life takes us we’re always home when we’re together.

Day 25 of 31: I love my community because home is wherever I’m with it.

Join the conversation

