Learning to be engaged.

Two weeks ago I got engaged (I liked it so I put a ring on it). 

Photo taken by Haley George (haleygeorgephotography.com)

My fiancée and I are very much in a learning phase. We are learning what it means to be engaged. We are learning what it looks like to love each other well. We are learning what it looks like to plan a wedding. We are learning the first few steps we need to take towards marriage.

Being engaged has become so much more than asking a question one night and hoping the answer was yes. Being engaged is more than one night, one question, one answer, and one memorable evening. Being engaged changes everything. Being engaged affects every day.

“Being engaged is a way of doing life, a way of living and loving.”

Being engaged is a choice. I want being engaged to be a theme, a skill, and a way of life I am striving for this year in all areas of my life. I want to be present in all situations. I want to be connected with the people around me. I want to view my life as a story, realizing the people in my community contribute tremendously to the chapters.

Just like being engaged to Lauren is a learning process, I am still learning what it means and what it looks like to be actively engaged in my community. How do you stay engaged in your community? What does it look like to be engaged in a community?

   “Watching Ryan lose himself in love reminded me that being “engaged” isn’t just an event that happens when a guy gets on one knee and puts a ring on his true love’s finger. Being engaged is a way of doing life, a way of living and loving.” Love Does, Bob Goff.

Day 18 of 31: I love my community because we are continually learning to be engaged.

_____________________________________________

Join us on Twitter (@AsWeGoBlog) & check out more posts here!

Join the conversation

