Hopeless Wanderer | 31 Days.

Yesterday, I was riding down the California freeway, the sun shining down, the beaches of Malibu flying past me out the window and Mumford and Son’s Hopeless Wanderer blaring on the stereo. This trip to Southern California has been about a lot of things for me. In some ways it’s been about escape. In others it’s been about relationships. Mostly, this trip has been about wandering.

I have a wanderer’s heart and a homesteaders mind.

You see, I have times when the only cure is to go – to be anywhere but where I am now. On the other hand, I can’t escape home and I don’t want to. I can’t imagine my life without this cozy midwest city being called home.

As the beaches gave way to the mountains and cities I was struck by the words of Marcus Mumford.

And in the dark I have no name

So leave that click in my head

And I will remember the words that you said

I was woefully reminded of how quick I am to lose sight, to forget those who surround and love me. That’s why today I love my community because they keep me, a hopeless wanderer, grounded in truth and righteousness.

My tendency is to wander. It’s not always physical. More often than not it’s wandering into the confines of my own mind but my community doesn’t let me. I don’t have to fight battles on my own. I don’t have to make decisions in isolation. They are always there gently reminding me that life should not be lived alone.

So when your hopes are on fire

But you know your desire

Don’t hold a glass over the flame

Don’t let your heart grow cold

I will call you by name

I will share your road

Wandering is a hopeless existence because it means going about things on your own. It means separation from community and from people who have earned the right to speak truth in your life.

But hold me fast, Hold me fast

Cuz I’m a hopeless wanderer

And hold me fast, Hold me fast

Cuz I’m a hopeless wanderer

And I will learn, I will learn to love the skies I’m under

And I will learn, I will learn to love the skies I’m under

The skies I’m under

Day 15 of 31: Why do I love my community? They keep me grounded in truth and righteousness.

One thought on “Hopeless Wanderer | 31 Days.

  1. I think everyone tends to wander. It’s in our nature, it’s the how you wander that’s important. You like to go, and that’s fine. You are in a position to do that. I like to shop or read, that’s how I wander. Some people wander into drugs or alcohol, while that’s not right it’s what they do. You and I are very lucky to have a community that keeps us grounded. While we might not like it when you wander to California, we will always be here when you come back.

Join the conversation

