Community Enablers

Community, more than anything else, has to be intentional.

Good community is a choice: deliberate, planned, designed, and intended.

Community has to be thoughtful and done on purpose, it will never just happen.

I am currently teaching in an elementary every day for an hour. From 12:30-1:30 I am Mr. English the reading teacher. The 4th grade classroom I am in works every day on “metacognition,” or thinking about their thinking. Thinking about thinking seems like a simple skill but the more I am in the classroom the more I see how important the skill is for young readers and life long learners.

Today I want us to create our own word. I’m not sure if it’s allowed, but I am willing to contact Webster to see how this whole “creating a word” things works. Here is our new word: metacommunity = thinking about community (Don’t Google it, there are rival definitions out there. Something to do with nature? Lame). This word is simple but also world shatteringly profound. It’s perfect.

Just like the 4th grade classroom is reminded everyday to remember their metacognition (thinking about their thinking), we need to remind each other daily to remember metacommunity (thinking about our community)!

One of my best friends always uses a phrase that challenges me to think about community. He always encourages people to be a “Community Enabler.” Community Enablers invest in the people around them, are intentional about time spent with others, and choose to make community happen. They don’t just sit back and hope that community falls into place and life long relationships just fall into their lap.

Day 12 of 31: Why do I love my community? Because it is filled with Community Enablers.

Join the conversation!

  • How are you a Community Enabler?
  • How can we be intentional about community?
One thought on “Community Enablers

  1. Pingback: Across the Country | 31 Days. | As We Go

Join the conversation

