Season of Change

This is a guest post by our good friend Karlie who we were fortunate enough to spend a week with at Young Life’s Timber Wolf Lake this summer.

_____________________________________

In the past few weeks I have encountered a lot of change in my life. This summer I had the privilege to work at a Young Life camp with 18 other interns. For three months we served thousands of campers and formed tight bonds with each other. On August 15, camp ended, everyone left, and life drastically changed. A few other interns and I stayed to serve other groups that utilize the camp in the off-season, but nothing was the same. Even the weather seemed to change seasons overnight.

Yesterday I traveled from northern woods Michigan to big city Wisconsin and life flipped upside down again. My stomach turns at the thought of all the uncertainties that lie in my days ahead. I’ll be moving into a house off campus for the first time, start my last semester of college, and after that, I have zero plans.

The question that continues to run through my head is, why do we dislike change so much? We are constantly the in the midst of change, whether that be big or small. Yet somehow we are still fearful of it. I don’t know the answer to this question, but I find comfort in knowing there is one thing in life that is always the same.

No matter what changes we encounter, the Lord is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. We have nothing to fear knowing that our lives are in His hands. So then the question must turn to, what do we have to fear? When life slaps us in the face and we find ourselves in a season of change, we need to throw fear out the window and search for what God wants to teach us in that moment.

  • What changes are you facing today?
  • What has God taught you through a season of change?

Thanks for reading! Follow @As_We_Go on Twitter & check out more posts here!

2 thoughts on “Season of Change

  1. This is awesome. I interned at SharpTop this past summer and clung to the scripture, the Lord is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow, when I left. Praise Him for consistency. This was super encouraging. Thanks for sharing.

    • Glad you enjoyed the post! We’re lucky to have such great people to share life with. Also, I’m sure you met some of our friends who camped at Sharp Top this summer. Thanks for following along as we blog!

Join the conversation

