Writing a New Story

I recently celebrated my birthday. Growing up I always wanted my birthday to be the perfect day. Everything had to go just right. I had to have the perfect meal, the perfect cake, all my best friends and cool presents. Yet, year after year, without fail, I was always let down.
This year I took a new approach to celebrating my birthday. Instead of wanting everything to go perfect I took action. I stepped in and made the day exactly what I wanted it to be.

In the last three months I’ve been challenged and changed in ways beyond imagine. It might not be initially visible but my attitude in life is drastically different. I used to think my story was playing itself out and I just had to make the best of the situation. This often left me unsettled and discontent with my life. It just wasn’t going where I wanted it to go. Now I know that any discontent in my life is my own fault. If I’m not writing my own story then the world around me is writing it. I don’t want my legacy to be that I was a nice guy who had great friends and wrote a blog. That legacy makes for a sad funeral. The legacy I want to leave reads more like this: It was hard to interact with him and not be changed. He was loving and caring and passionate about life and the people he encountered. He took risks – sometimes he won and sometimes he lost. He lived a life that was all in.

This year I’m writing my own story. I’m making changes. I’m challenging the status quo because I don’t want to do average.

If you are discontent change it. Write your own story.

How are you writing your own story?

Where do you feel discontent? How are you going to change it?

Join the conversation

