Neither here nor there.

pureandnoble.blogspot.com/

I spend a lot of time and energy looking towards the future. I want things to be the best that they can be: my future friendships, my future marriage, my future job, my future family, my future ministry, etc…

I also value giving time to the things that are right in front of me. I want to be present in the relationships I have now. I want to invest in the things that I am doing today in hope that they will lead to a better future.

I live in a constant struggle of finding the balance of here and there. 

For the last two weeks I have been thinking about one simple statement: “I’m not there yet.” I look at all the older, more dynamic, more mature, more successful people around me and think, “I’m not there yet.” I accept this statement as true and allow it to steal my ambition and my joy. I am guilty of putting an ambiguous “there” on a pedestal and telling myself I have to reach it.

I recently received some wisdom and perspective about being here and striving for there:

” “There” is tricky. Just about the time your feet hit “there,” something inside of you starts to ache and your long-awaited “there” becomes another “here.” It’s a dance; finding that sweet balance between contentment of the “here” and the longing to be more, reach more, love more.” -Melissa Roberts

Through Melissa’s words, and more processing on my own, I realized I was letting there rob my here. I was looking to the future, and what could be, which caused me to miss out on the great things that were right in front of me.

I was spending too much time worrying about reaching there and I was overlooking what was right in front of me. When I do this it takes away from here and ultimately keeps me from reaching there. If we overlook our current situations, and the people right in front of us, we can’t reach the future we are striving for. This puts us neither here nor there

The truth is, the only way to reach “there” is to focus our energy on “here.”

________________________________________________

Join us on Twitter @AsWeGoBlog & check out more posts here!

7 thoughts on “Neither here nor there.

  1. This resonates so well with me! I feel I act the same way. I do think counting blessings is a huge help with keeping your mind on your present.

  2. This is something I struggle with ALL the time Jordan. I think something that hit me when reading your post was that focusing on the future robs you of the present, and in turn you never reach the ‘there’. That statement alone will help me out a bunch. Thanks for the post sir.

    • Glad you enjoyed it, Conrad. Thanks for the comment, you know your wisdom is always welcomed here. I need to hear more about how you are using Digging Ditches with your team. Let’s talk soon.

  3. Holy moly I love this so much. I feel like it’s especially relevant in this season of our lives where so many great things are in the near future…graduating college, getting full-time jobs, marriage, family, and a a million other things. It’s so easy to focus on what’s to come and miss the fact that God wants to offer us His joy and His presence NOW. I’ve been praying a lot lately that God would help me to be present and find Him in each moment, even the ones that are hard or seem like stepping stones to better things that are on the way. This post complements that so well. I’m so grateful for your vulnerability, your wisdom, and the clear, insightful way you express yourself in these posts. They just keep getting better and better!

Join the conversation

