Reality television and a miracle.

GUEST POST by Jessica Shaver (@kcshavers)

It is no secret within my family that I love television. My deepest, darkest secret though is that I love reality television. There is something wonderful about watching people interact in their own real life environments that is exceptionally appealing to me. Not so long ago, I had someone even tell me that I speak about reality stars as though I personally know them. Odd, right?

My current fascination is with a show called Intervention on A&E. If you haven’t seen it, the show is a documentary following people who are buried in drug and alcohol addiction while their families’ stage interventions hoping to help them get clean and sober. I watch the men and women who are so far gone in their addictions that their lives are completely unmanageable. They lose their jobs, homes, health, and their families are destroyed. I know what you are thinking: Why would someone choose to watch something so incredibly sad when they can watch an amazing show like Duck Dynasty?

I watch it because what they face seems impossible to defeat.


Each and every episode that I watch I think that there is no way they are going to get sober. I sit and cry and wonder how in the world someone who is so dependent on drugs or alcohol can ever find happiness. I cry for their children. I cry for their parents. I cry for myself.

My husband is a recovering alcoholic. Typing those words would have been impossible just a couple of years ago. Addiction truly is a family disease that makes everyone in the family sick. I was sick with grief and always tried to hide the truth. I used to think his own journey was just as impossible as that of each person on the show. As a believer, I am astonished that I could ever feel that way. How could I ever imagine that something is too big for the God of the universe to handle?

My God is a God of BIG things.

This is the God who turned water into wine. Who fed thousands from a few loaves of bread and some fish. Who raised the dead and healed the sick. Who conquered death.

He performed miracles daily then and he continues to do so now.

August 7th, 2011 my husband hit his knees and asked God to help him face his impossible task. He asked and God delivered. God has continued to deliver for 385 days (and counting).

  • When is the last time you were confident enough to ask for a miracle in your own life?
  • Are you giving God a chance to show up in a big way? To show you what He is capable of?
  • How can God show up for you?

Thanks for reading! Follow @As_We_Go on Twitter & check out more posts here!

2 thoughts on “Reality television and a miracle.

  1. Wow…Jessica, I love this. I think my favorite thing about it is your vulnerability. Our God IS a God of big things and the place I see that the most in this post is in how you so openly share how He has been big in your littleness and your weakness. Those places where you and your husband have had to admit your own helplessness show so clearly how God rises to fight for us and deliver us and I’m grateful for this glimpse into how He’s fighting for your family. Thanks for this encouragement about God’s heart for us…it made my afternoon! : )

Join the conversation

