I’m not there yet.

Two weeks ago I went to The Global Leadership Summit (well, I watched it on a large projector screen). At this summit I had the privilege of listening to a few of the top leaders, businessmen, and pastors in the world talk about their area of expertise.

I heard success stories about some of the most profitting businesses in the world, I learned leadership strategies from a few of the best minds on specific topics, and I soaked up tips on how to send out burst of energy as a leader from the senior pastor of one of the largest and most influential churches in the country. It was incredible, but overwhelming. I remember sitting infront of the oversized projector screen and thinking, “Wow, these people are truly dynamic. I’m not there yet.”

During my time attending the leadership summit I also had the privilege of spending two full days with four amazing people. They are all on Younglife Staff and are Area Directors across the Kansas City and Chicago area. Time spent with these people between sessions was more valuable to me than the summit itself. During our breaks and lunches I was able to hear these four leaders process the information with each other and discuss how they could apply what they were hearing to their current platform (aka Their Younglife Area). These conversations were great, but also overwhelming. I can recall sitting at lunch, staring at my sushi, and thinking, “Wow, these people are truly dynamic. I’m not there yet.”

I left the summit with a mixture of thoughts and emotions. On one side I was very encouraged and motivated to apply the new ideas and information I just listened to. On the other side I was having a pity party because I realized I wasn’t as dynamic as the people I was surrounded by and I don’t have a platform like they do.

I came home and started to tell my self lies about not having a big enough platform where I could apply the information. I was also discarding information because I thought it was for people with real jobs or real influence, not college students or volunteer leaders. My mind was flooded with crippling thoughts. I started to justify not trying by saying, “I’m not there yet.”

I listened to, and was surrounded by, some incredible people for two days. The simple truth is that these people did not become dynamic overnight. They did not gain all their experience, wisdom, passion, and knowledge in two days at a leadership summit, and neither will I (Cue exhale).

I’m not there yet.

And that’s okay. 

Thanks for reading! Follow @As_We_Go on Twitter & check out more posts here!

3 thoughts on “I’m not there yet.

  1. Ever since our conversation on twitter after the summit I have been thinking about your words and been praying. As a recovering there-aholic, I am going to dump encouragement on you. “There” is tricky. Because just about the time your feet hit “there,” something inside of you starts to ache and your long-awaited “there” becomes another “here.” It’s a dance. Finding that sweet balance between contentment of the “here” and the longing to be more, reach more, love more.

    Christine Caine wrote something like this a few weeks ago on her blog…”What Satan fails to remove you from, he’ll simply try to hurry.”

    Ask for eyes to see your current platform for what it truly is. Impatience and insecurity can influence our perception. I’ve needed this reminder a hundred times this year from friends on the outside looking in.

    Okay, now I’m going to affirm you. I know, I know. That was in no way your intention of writing this blog. BUT your “Yes” is dynamic. Simply by saying “Yes” to this blog, to NKC team leading, to learning how to best educate and love kids with special needs, you are dynamic because by definition dynamic is an “effective action.” Because there is a crap-ton of people in our generation who are still trying to work up the courage to say “Yes.”

    “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’ Matthew 25:21

    Okay, I’ll leave you alone now. 🙂

    • Everyone who read the post & your comment now knows exactly what I meant when I said I was surrounded by “dynamic” people. Thank you so much for your wisdom and encouragement, it really does mean a lot to me.

      I have struggled with the “here” & “there” dance over the last couple years. I so often look to the future (there) and what could happen and how great it could be. This for sure causes me to overlook my current platform, situations, and ministry (here). You’re words are so true and I am constantly reminding myself to enjoy the process.

      I think you nailed it when you said, “Impatience and insecurity can influence our perception.” That’s perfect.

      Again, thanks for the encouragement and perspective, you know it is always welcomed!

  2. Pingback: #ManlyMonday | Neither here nor there. | As We Go

Join the conversation

