Love Does meets Younglife.

I used to want to fix people,

but now I just want to be with them.

In Chapter 1 of Love Does, Bob Goff shares a story from when he was in high school. This story included a roadtrip adventure, an abundance of whimsy, and a Younglife leader. In the story Bob was at a crossroads in life and had to make some important decisions. At his side the whole time was his friend Randy who offered his time, open ears, and 4 (maybe 5??) simple words: “Bob, I’m with you.”

Throughout the rest of the story Bob explains how Randy was simply there for him. Randy didn’t lecture Bob when he made questionable decisions and he didn’t try to shovel out answers to all Bob’s problems. Randy showed Bob how love should really work, by doing. Bob wasn’t a project, he was a friend.

Bob explains why Randy went on the road trip with him:

“Why? It was because Randy loved me. He saw the need and he did something about it. He didn’t just say he was for me or with me. He was actually present with me.”   

I am realizing there are an abundance of people who want to instruct, lecture, and give answers. There are much fewer people like Randy who are willing to say, “I’m with you.”

  • Are people projects or are people friends?
  • Are we saying we are with people or are we actually present with people?
  • Is friendship like giving a lecture or is it like going on a walk shoulder by shoulder?

Because we loved you so much, we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well. – 1 Thessalonians 2:8

Thanks for reading! Follow @As_We_Go on Twitter & check out more posts here!

3 thoughts on “Love Does meets Younglife.

  1. That first question about whether people are projects or friends is really convicting for me. I’ve had to wrestle a ton with God about how I tend to view people (especially in ministry settings) as projects instead of another way that God reveals Himself and His heart. My pride and desire to “fix” people get in the way of my seeing how each person can point me to Jesus in a new, unique way. I was really convicted by this in Love Does and love how you mentioned it here! What a sweet picture of what relationships can look like. Thanks for this, Jordan! : )

  2. Pingback: As We Go’s Top 10 | As We Go

Join the conversation

