Why I Stopped Seeking Growth

I used to think life was about growth.

I thought we were supposed to grow: change, mature, build character, become better, do better, be transformed. That was the goal, so that was my focus.

This just simply can’t be the case. When growth is the main goal we fall short.

I have spent a lot of time and energy pursuing growth and the outcome was only becoming frustrated and discouraged. I was missing out on the process it takes to get there. I overlooked the people around me. I missed good experiences. I didn’t enjoy my community.

I was missing the mark.

Recently I was hit hard with a extremely complex simple truth:

Growth should not be the main goal. Growth is a byproduct of a greater goal.

In order to see the growth we desire we need to seek people, Jesus, community, and real life experiences.

When we seek the right things growth is inevitable.

  • How do you know when you are seeking the right things?
  • How do you know when you are seeking the wrong things?

Thanks for reading! Follow @As_We_Go on Twitter & check out more posts here!

2 thoughts on “Why I Stopped Seeking Growth

  1. When growth is the main goal we fall short. – Very Punny, Jordan.

    I’m not sure that we really do ‘know’ when we are seeking the right things, I think that there is always a role that faith plays when you are pursuing a goal, and you don’t really know that you have gone the right or wrong way until you have arrived and can process the journey.

    That being said, I think that if you are deligently putting your faith in the Lord, he will show you when you are going the wrong way. He may not always point you which way to go, but if you trust Him he won’t lead you the wrong way.

    Side note, I think a the problem of pursuing growth instead of a goal is motivation. I have set out numerous times to become better or grow at something and I have fallen short just as many times. Thats because I missed a crutial step in the process.

    I have to have a light, something to look toward and say, “I’m going to be there someday!”. We can achieve anything, I honestly believe that. We as followers of Christ and as people who have ambitions can conquer any feat. You just have to trust that it is what the Lord wants for you and not a selfish ambition.

    The Lord wants us to succeed.

  2. Pingback: As We Go’s Top 10 | As We Go

Join the conversation

