#ManlyMonday | Identity

[GUEST POST] by Conrad Schottel

I’ll start this off with a quote from some guy I’ve never heard of. Mainly because he has something of substance to say, and I don’t.

‘If you don’t know your history, if you don’t know your family, then who are you?’

After stumbling upon this quote recently, the last fragment grabbed me and threw me into a whirlwind of wonderings.

Who the heck am I?

What is my identity?

I began pondering different aspects of my life that could contribute to my identity. I have an awesome girlfriend, go to college, hang out with neat people, and attempt to play football. I’m an Exercise Science major, expert griller guy, and I want to work with inner city youth when I graduate.

And after all that I was still left with no answer to the looming identity question. This question haunts me. Truth be told it haunts us all.

I long to have an identity that is bigger than myself, to live in such a noble way that my influence outlives my time on earth.

  • How do we acquire this valiant identity?
  • Where should we derive our identity from?
  • How can we leave behind an influence that outlives ourselves?
2 thoughts on “#ManlyMonday | Identity

Join the conversation

