#ManlyMonday | Kevin Durant

Image by EMMA CARMICHAEL

How much would you pay to dunk like Kevin Durant? Even if just one time?

$5…$100…….$1,000??? Or maybe even……

I am hopeful that I will throw down like KD some day. Dream big, kids. Dream. Big.

I was watching Game 2 of the NBA Final last Thursday night trying to think of a blog post idea that connected to the NBA finals. I sat on the floor determined to find some nugget of manly wisdom I could extract from the power house matchup of the young and talented Oklahoma City Thunder taking on the Big 3 of the Miami Heat. As I was watching the game I was thinking through several ideas. I am a firm believer that in order to arrive at one good idea you first have to sort through numerous bad ideas.

Here are my bad ideas:

  • I thought about how we work hard at things in life (practice) in hope to arrive at the biggest stage (NBA Finals)
  • Then I thought I could write about how us men work together in life just like a basketball team works together on the court. (Lame sauce)

Then it happened.

The most glorious of ideas hit me like a tidal wave: “#ManlyMonday | Kevin Durant.”

It’s manly. It’s relevant. It’s perfect.

Here is the profound statement of the day:

As men we need to be more like Kevin Durant.

I’ll explain. During the game on Thursday Kevin Durant had a monster second half and ended up with 32 points. However, what everyone will remember is that he missed a midrange jumper that would have kept his team in the game. With 10 seconds remaining Durant was heavily contested (let’s be honest he was fouled) by Lebron James as he missed the shot. I’m not saying the ref should have called the foul, but there was a lot of contact on a play that decided the outcome of the game.

In the post-game interview Durant did not rant about being fouled. Actually, he completely denied the contact and admitted he should have hit the “open” shot. He easily could have blamed the refs, his teammates who scored fewer points, or  a number of other excuses.

But, he didn’t. 

He took ownership of his mistake.

Part of becoming successful, learning, growing, and maturing is being vulnerable and taking risks. We have to put ourselves in situations where we might make a mistake, fall short, or flat out fail. Then we admit it, own it, and learn from it.

Mike Solak captured this idea perfectly with a tweet last week:

@Mike_Solak Men, let’s get in the habit of owning up to our failures, shortcomings, and mistakes. #ManlyMonday”

Let’s learn to be more like Kevin Durant. #ThunderUp

Share some manly wisdom:

  1. Why is it important to stop blaming others and start owning our mistakes?
  2. Do you have a story or example of when you have seen someone own a mistake? Or maybe pass the blame?
  3. Give your best argument supporting who you think will win the NBA finals. 
3 thoughts on “#ManlyMonday | Kevin Durant

  1. Let’s do work.
    1. I would never want to follow anyone who doesn’t make mistakes. They bore me and probably always choose the safest path.
    2. If only I had a dollar for every time I’ve had to say, “I screwed up.”
    3. I refuse to jinx the Thunder. Snap.

  2. For one, I want to say that this is the exact reason I am such a big KD fan. He is the type of competitor and leader I would want to follow because he is humble, and owns up to his mistakes. And obvi, HE BALLS THE HECCCKKKK OUTTTTT.
    I think it is important to own up to our shortcomings and failures because there is so much learned from this process. I know personally when I stopped moping about failures in my own life, and simply took responsibility for my shortcomings, there was a certain peace and freedom in that. And from that I learned and grew as a man much faster than when I decide to hide from my mistakes.
    I also think this is extremely important when it comes to leadership in any arena of life. If a leader is transparent in his weakness/mistakes, I think his team or group respect him more, and feel that they can relate to him much easier.

    • I think you’re exactly right when you say there is a peace and freedom that comes with owning our mistakes. For what ever reason we (especially men) think we need to go around with all the answers, good ideas, and can never be wrong. This is the exact opposite of humility and good leadership. I agree that there is strength in being humble and knowing we don’t have the answers. If we can read that point, leadership becomes something totally different. We start to enable and encourage others and can trust them to make tough decisions and have good ideas. In addition to that I think people can relate to someone that leads WITH people, not someone who has all the answers and gives orders.

      Thanks for the comment Conrad, I really liked your thoughts.

Join the conversation

