With Conviction…

Novelist and screenwriter Curt Siodmak once said, “A man of conviction is often more to be desired than a man of experience.” These poignant words have some very real applications for us today. We live in a society with two dominate and polarizing thoughts on life. On one hand we have the “work hard, do your job, be a good soldier” train of thought. This one encourages us to grin and bear it; to go with the flow in order to live a “secure” life. On the other hand we have the “make your dream job, do what makes you happy” train of thought. This theme encourages us to live on feeling, to find a passion and turn it in to a living. Now, I don’t want to make this in to a black and white, clear cut statement because few things in life are that way. What I do want to say is that there is a way to marry these ideas and it starts with conviction.

We live in a world of systems. The question is how do we navigate these systems and create a life that is valuable to us and our community. Here is where conviction comes in. What are you convicted about? (note: not a moral type of conviction but rather what gets you excited and motivated). Start there. Now explore the ways your conviction can transform your life. How can you turn it into a life style that makes it easier (nothing worth having in life comes easy, right?) to work hard or be a good soldier? Our world is full of opportunity for those who are convicted and act on it. As Thomas Carlyle put it, “Conviction is worthless unless it is converted into conduct.”

Kinfolk Magazine is a great example of what becomes when people act on conviction. Check out their manifesto and see what they’re doing. There are many others out their who had a conviction and have done something great with it. Perhaps you could be next.

4 thoughts on “With Conviction…

  1. “What are you convicted about?”
    – Day to day conviction for me has always come out of a place of knowing that no matter what we may be doing, we can glorify God through it. Every single time you interact with another person, there is a chance to show the Lords love. I don’t mean trying to evangilze every situation, more so I mean just being compassionate toward others.
    “Now explore the ways your conviction can transform your life.”
    This is a huge question and I am not sure that I can answer it without writing for a couple hours, but…. I think that the easy way for me to look at my conviction would be to say that I am called to be an evangelist, or to be a some sort of Pastor. The problem is, I’m not. My passion truly lies in interacting with people of the world, not leading a group of believers. I won’t pretend to understand why God has made me the way I am. But i will continue to try to use the gifts that I know God has given because that is the best way i know how to thank him for giving them to me.

  2. Also, Jarred and Jordan. I am really interested to hear you both answer the question’s outlined in this post. I think it would give all of us insight into why you have started this community.
    No pressure to have awesome answers or anything…. just sayin…. : )

    • I seem to be continually convicted about what I am doing to help other’s and what actions I am taking to better situations that I see as “broken.” I think far too often we see that situations could improve but we just sit back and watch, complain, or wait for someone else to fix them. There are 2 questions that people I greatly respect have passed down to me:

      What if we change?
      AND
      What if we dont?

      The first question allows us to think of all the positive outcomes that could result from changing, helping, or fixing a situation. This question is usually enough to throw me into action and respond to conviction.

      The second question is the one that haunts me. What if we dont change (or help the change)? What if we just look the other way? What if we dont help? What if we dont move into action? Will the person ever be helped? Will the situation ever be fixed? What if you could have helped in the situation but you didn’t?

      These are just a couple ways that I balance my conviction with action.

  3. Pingback: As We Go’s Top 10 | As We Go

Join the conversation

